Black Girl, You’ve Been Gentrified

I love when my family gets together! If there is one thing we know how to do, we know how to tell a story and add humorous twists and flourishes that will leave you with abs of steel!

Tonight my cousin, Nichole Thompson-Adams, performed her one-woman show, “Black Girl, You’ve Been Gentrified” at Joe’s Pub in New York. She is a true storyteller!!! She examined the stereotypes of race and class issues that many of us hesitate to discuss for fear of being offensive, held up a mirror and made the audience laugh! I wish I could have been there in person, but I am glad there was a live stream of her performance. I wonder if she’s planning to take this show on the road? Hmmmmm….well, in the meantime, if you missed the show, check it out below. You will not be disappointed!!!

Well done Nichole!!! Can’t wait to see what you have up your sleeve next.

See the performance here! —> http://livestre.am/H3IQ

4 thoughts on “Black Girl, You’ve Been Gentrified

  1. cool kisura hadharani, I hope you decide to link your wordpress to your yahoo pulse, it would help

    please check your email

  2. i did enjoy the show…. she was sooo funny…. and soooo on point… i grew up in brooklyn too so she reminded me of my youth… i think i went to camp carmen….lol

    1. Hope, she really did a great job painting a picture of community. It really reminded me of growing up in NY too!

Leave a Reply

