Random Thought

(Repost)

I don’t make New Year resolutions. I never keep them. (I commend the 5 or 6 people in the world who manage to keep their resolutions all year!) However, a couple of years ago I decided to pay closer attention to the things that were going on around me. I determined that there were clear signs of impending disaster prior to 90% of the unfortunate events that took place in my life. Had I been paying closer attention to the details, I probably could have avoided 70% of those disasters. So, in order to make sure I remained focused, I set the alarm on my cell phone to go off every Saturday at 4pm and 10pm (just in case I was busy at 4pm). That is my reminder to reflect on the past week and consider the lessons life offered. I think it’s made a difference. My “disaster rate” has dropped considerably…I think!

So this week I have learned 2 things. Lesson number 1:
It is absolutely ok to dream big, mad, crazy, absurd, pretty-close-to-it-ain’t-nevuh-gonna-happen type dreams…just be wise about with whom you share those visions. Now, I’m not talking about anything kinky! I’m talking about those life changing dreams…like the dreams you used to have as a kid. Remember wanting to be a TV personality or well recognized athlete? We never considered the potential road blocks. THAT’S how you dream!!! The one thing to beware of would be the “dream killers.” I’ve met plenty of them and allowed their words to squelch my dreams in the past. I won’t make that mistake again! I’m going to dream like I’m 5 years old!

Lesson number 2:
The “big picture” is so much bigger than any of us really know…every now and then you really have to step back and take a good hard look at your contribution…are you giving your best? This lesson has more of a spiritual focus. God has created us to do stuff…some of us will do big, visible to the world stuff and some of us will do less noticeable (but equally important) stuff. I know that I have a tendency to go through my day without considering God’s purpose in the moment. No wonder I’ve had a 90% percent disaster rate in the past! So, I think I may need to set another alarm on my phone to remind myself to consider how anything that I may have said or done during the week positively contributed to the “big picture.”

Blackboard

One thought on “Random Thought

Leave a Reply

