Writing in Spurts

Well, I never did manage to barricade myself in my bedroom.  Sigh….but I have managed to get some writing done!  It’s been in spurts, but spurts are better than absolute drought!  What I have discovered is that I just have to TAKE the time to write.  I could stay on my knees and beg God for the 16 additional hours I need in a day to get everything done, but He simply is not going to upset the delicate balance of the universe to accommodate my writing schedule.  

One of the things that I have gotten back into is reading.  I sacrifice sleep to read the printed word, but I feel a little more complete.  The alligator bags under my eyes are a non-issue.  A little black coffee and I barely feel the effects of fatigue!  During the day, I devour audio books!  Right now, I’m enjoying a series by Darynda Jones.  I’ve read (listened to) her books: First Grave on the Right and Second Grave on the Left.  I love her writing style!  Mystery, romance and a touch of the paranormal, well blended with quippy humor and sarcasm.  They did a great job selecting the narrator for the audio book.  She really brought the characters to life.  I’m hooked on this series!  I’m already trying to figure out the cast to the movie/television series!  I also read (listened to) The Consequences of Love: A Novel by Sulaiman Addonia.  This was the best love story I’ve read in a very long time.  It doesn’t have a happy ending…it’s a sad, but hopeful ending.  That is all I will say about it!  You have to read it for yourself!  I am currently reading Pious by Kenn Bivins.  I started reading it a few months ago, but I just can’t get into a comfy reading position with the laptop.  I finally invested in a nook this week and started reading the book. once more, from the beginning.  I’ll be sure to add it to my goodreads.com list!

With regard to “taking the time to write,” I am actually working the piece that I pulled from Mitch Albom’s book, Have A Little Faith. My character has quite a story to tell. I think it will move you. (Nope…I can’t tell you anything else about the story! 🙂 I will, however, share a poem with you a little later on. I decided to stretch myself and write something on the more sensual side…it’s not freaky or kinky…I’ll leave that to the pros! But I did come out of my shell with this piece. I think you all might like it.

 
Oh! If YOU know of any good audio books, pass it on! I’m always looking for something exciting to listen to while I work!

4 thoughts on “Writing in Spurts

  1. thanks Nike for sharing your reading habits and choices. we seem to like some of the same types of books 🙂
    i really liked the piece you wrote. too many ppl miss that you can write “sensually” without being overtly sexual or erotic.
    sometimes for me as the reader, i want that in my face hot sweaty erotic piece… and other times the imagination needs to get a workout and put the pieces together on its own.

    please continue to share books that you read and your critique of them. as funds allow, i hope to get back to reading and enjoying books like i used to.

Leave a Reply

