What I Said

I thought long and hard
About what I had to say
Before I expressed the feelings
I wanted to convey to you.
Because I’ve always been told
That what you put out
Into the atmosphere
Will always return,
But maybe I misunderstood
What the sages said.
I told you I loved you,
And you responded with blank eyes
Like you didn’t hear
Like you didn’t care
The words were foreign
To your heart and ears.
The universe must be broken,
Because I know what the sages said.
They made it plain.
But the love I gave,
So precious and pure,
Evaporated 
Against your blank gaze.

Nike Binger Marshall (c) 2012

Whispering

2 thoughts on “What I Said

Leave a Reply

