Raising your child on “the classics”

I take great pride in exposing my daughter to the “classics.”  By my definition, those are stories and music that are timeless, or those things that I really loved when I was younger.  This list includes:

Movies Like:

  • Pride and Prejudice
  • Tom Jones (EVERYONE should see this)
  • Little Dorit
  • Purple Rain
  • Love and Basketball
  • Lion King
Tom Jones Movie, 1997

Singers/Rappers like:

  • Luther Vandross
  • Teena Marie (my daughter LOVES Teena!)
  • Phyllis Hyman
  • The Jungle Brothers (yeah…THAT song)
  • Elvis Crespo (yup…that song)
  • Santana
  • Missy Elliot

I was sure to raise my daughter on good television shows like the Cosby Show, Looney Tunes, In Living Color, and Animaniacs. (We like comedy.)  So, I was really disappointed in myself when I realized that I failed to introduce her to two of my childhood favorites.  When Bonnie Franklin passed, she looked at me and ask, “Who was that,” I told myself I would have to introduce her to the show.

Animaniacs

But when the commercial below came on and she asked me, “What is that,” I felt like a COMPLETE failure!

I told her, “That’s K.I.T.T.”

“What’s a ‘K.I.T.T.?”

That question cut me to the quick!  K.I.T.T. was not a “what.”  K.I.T.T was/is a ‘who’!  And I was sure I told her about K.I.T.T.’s sidekick, Michael Knight!  Clearly, lessons must continue!

What are some of the classics you share with your kids?

2 thoughts on “Raising your child on “the classics”

  1. This is a great post Nike and just over the weekend, I was watching some of the old Looney Tunes cartoons with him showing him the cartoons I grew up on compared to the ones that are out now and needless to say we both laughed so much and for so long! (especially the Daffy Duck portraying Robin Hood episode). I know that some things change with time, but having an appreciation for the classics (cartoons, movies, etc.), even with the current generation, is a must!

    1. I agree, Luther. It’s important to expose kids to the ‘first content’ as I like to call it. My daughter get a kick out of the original Land of the Lost. She has giggle fits all the way through because of the stop motion animation, but it gives her an appreciation for the smoother animation she sees today.

Leave a Reply

