Things that come to mind

I’m taking a class called Fantasy in Fiction.  We just finished reading Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass.  Some of my classmates just could not get into the story. I enjoyed it!  Alice in Wonderland is one of my favorite children’s stories and enjoyed reading the story with a fresh set of eyes. While I have enjoyed the many movie variations of the story, I think I enjoyed the book more.

The story brought to mind a poem my mother used to recite when I was a child, called Topsy Turvy Land.  It made me smile when I was a child because it was so silly and it reminds of Shel Silverstein’s poems.

Topsy Turvy Land

The people walk upon their heads,
The sea is made of sand,
The children go to school by night,
In Topsy Turvy Land.

The front-door step is at the back,
You’re walking when you stand,
You wear your hat upon your feet,
In Topsy Turvy Land.

And buses on the sea you’ll meet,
While pleasure boats are planned
To travel up and down the streets
Of Topsy Turvy Land.

You pay for what you never get,
I think it must be grand,
For when you go you’re coming back,
In Topsy Turvy Land.

By
H. E. Wilkinson

Through the Looking Glass by Evelyn Astegno

Leave a Reply

