When I was young…

Image of NPR memo as found on http://nprchives.tumblr.com/post/84119269701/a-memo-from-20-years-ago-today-key-quote-the
Image of NPR memo as found on http://nprchives.tumblr.com/post/84119269701/a-memo-from-20-years-ago-today-key-quote-the

This memo from NPR announcing the introduction of the internet to their business made me laugh. It took me back to my childhood, when the personal computer was just starting to become a big thing.

When I was young, my father taught me and my brothers basic programming on a Commodore 64, our first home computer.  He refused to get us the Atari gaming system, much to our disappointment. We did get a Nintendo a few years later. Duck Hunt was our favorite game….but, I’m getting off track.  Dad figured that it was better for us to learn how to use a computer so we could get a really good job by the time we graduated from high school…about years later. He was right. (Thanks Dad!)

I didn’t realize at that time that having access to a home computer was such a big deal. I know everyone didn’t have one, but because my father worked on computers for a living, it wasn’t so strange for us to have one.

It is amazing how much technology has changed since then. We’ve gone from huge, bulky screens and boxes on our desktop to computers that fix into our pocket.  The internet used to be accessible by phone…no, not a cell phone, but a phone plugged into a wall. Sending and receiving a fax was considered the fast way to communicate in print. Now, we text and video chat on our cell phones. It all makes you wonder how much all of this will change over the next 20 or 30 years. I look forward to finding out!

Leave a Reply

