Zucchini Day

Me. Holding a Zucchini while talking on the phone.
Me. Holding a Zucchini while talking on the phone on National Zucchini Day.

 

I love food holidays…mostly because I love good food! Among my favorites are, National Donut Day, National Pancake Day and National Coffee Day. A few years ago, I discovered that August 8th is National Zucchini Day. I like zucchini, but I didn’t think there was a day devoted to that particular squash! It amused me when someone actually left a bag of that wonderful squash in my door! We feasted that night!

Now, to celebrate Zucchini Day, you just don’t go out and buy and eat zucchini. No, that is just the wrong way to celebrate zucchini! You are supposed to sneak a zucchini into your neighbor’s door. Yes, sneak. Why? I don’t know, but stealth gift-giving is always fun. I can testify that surprise gift-receiving is also wonderful fun…especially receiving healthy, useful gifts like zucchini! 😀

So, what do you do if you are on the receiving end on National Zucchini Day? Cook them, of course! I love them sauté them with onions, garlic and diced tomato. But here are a few recipes you can try in the event you are blessed with zucchini on August 8th!

(P.S. May 11th is National Eat What You Want Day. You may want to try some of these recipes on that day! You’re Welcome! 😀 )

Zucchini Bread (you can add carrots and raisins for extra flavor)

Grilled Zucchini

Zucchini Fries (great substitute for French Fries)

Veggie Stir Fry

2 thoughts on “Zucchini Day

    1. So glad I could share something new with you, John! Don’t forget to stealth-gift some Zucchini to a friend or neighbor! 😀

Leave a Reply

