Maybe He

It is Throwback Thursday again! Today I am sharing a piece I wrote in 2009. Read it. Think about it. ❤

 

Maybe He

Maybe there was another way out,
but he didn’t know it.

Maybe he could have asked for help,
but he didn’t know how.

Maybe if he knew how to unbury the pain,
he would have discovered his voice.

Maybe he would have understood,
it’s ok for a man to be vulnerable.

Maybe if I told him
all of the wonderful things I saw in him,
he would have opened his eyes.

Maybe he would have opened his heart
to let me examine his brokenness.

Maybe.

Maybe not.

Maybe it’s just like his letter said-
he didn’t want to fight anymore.

Maybe if he reached out,
maybe if he fought one more time,

Maybe if he had the will to live
he would have heard me say,

I love him.

black-woman-crying (1)

http://www.suicidepreventionlifeline.org/

Leave a Reply

