Why I Stayed

domestic abuse

 

Because they said God doesn’t like divorce.

Because they said I was stuck with the bad choice I made.

Because I believed them.

Because his family said I was good for him

And I would make him a better person

And those words made me feel powerful,

They fed my ego.

Because I didn’t know there was better

Because I didn’t believe I was enough for me.

Because the baby needed a father in the home.

Because I didn’t want to be a failure.

Because I was afraid of being alone.

Because I didn’t know I didn’t need him

Or anyone

To make me happy

And whole.

But I know better, now.

11 thoughts on “Why I Stayed

  1. It takes maturity and strength to stop listening to all the other voices and to turn inward to the voice that matters. I know. I spent over twenty years listening to what others wanted of me. Congrats on your life change.

    1. Thank you. Hopefully, the other men and women in abuse situations read the comments under the #WhyIStayed and #WhyILeft hashtags and find some strength and motivation to leave.

Leave a Reply

