Finished

bloody hands

FINISHED

there I stood

blood on my hands

screaming banshee sirens

flashing lights

closing in.

my breath was labored

your breath was no more

and I didn’t care.

I was rid of you

at last.

I stood over you

wondering

what made you think

I wouldn’t fight back

after I fought so hard to leave?

men in blue

screaming orders

I don’t move

they pull me down

now I’m kissing asphalt

cold steel on my wrist

where is the weapon?

why don’t they believe

I used my hands

the same way you did?

If you are a victim of Domestic Violence or know someone who needs help, visit http://www.thehotline.org/  or call 1-800-799-7233 | 1-800-787-3224 (TTY)

4 thoughts on “Finished

    1. Thanks Wil. No one expects a victim to have enough of a situation and fight back. But it’s happened, and the victim is usually charged. The best thing for the abused person to do is leave. I hope posting the hotline numbers helps someone.

Leave a Reply

