Back to the Future: A Letter to the Past

Dionne’s message to her 10-year-old self is a message that so many young women (and grown women) need to hear and remind themselves of often! Thanks for sharing, Dionne!

dionnesexpression

216602_10150269067622409_3156971_n

It’s so interesting how the universe responds to us. I’ve recently found myself saying on a number of occasions that I wish I could “go back and give [a younger version of myself] a hug’. I say it whenever I remember behaviors that were mindlessly prominent, stemming from a number of perceived deficiencies or flaws…efforts to get others to notice or “see” me and perceive or (even worse) ascribe my value. Then I stumbled across a challenge to– no… I was presented with an opportunity to do a writing assignment about advice I would give to my younger self. Anyone else hearing Twilight Zone music, besides me? Well, actually the time frame that I was referring to was only about 4 years ago, but what follows is a letter to myself at around age 10, which is when things really were still in the middle of heavy twists and turns…

View original post 1,036 more words

Leave a Reply

