F is for Falling Behind

100 metres final, London, 1948, National Media Museum
100 metres final, London, 1948, National Media Museum

Do you see that guy in the picture? The one on the left, number 35. The one in last place, the one that has fallen behind the rest. He’s not very far behind, but he’s not in first place. I know how he feels. You work hard, you give it all your effort, you push and press and stretch, but your efforts just don’t quite get you where you need to be, when you need to be there. You’ve fallen behind and can’t catch up! It’s frustrating.

The truth is, this was pretty much the same position I was in with the writing challenge last year. It’s true! Look here. I know how my life cycles. As soon as I commit to taking on something big, like this A to Z Blog Challenge, chaos breaks out. But I’ve learned not to beat myself up about it. I can’t control the chaos, but I have control over how I deal with it. I have to think like that runner in the picture. I have to keep running. It’s better to be in the running and place last than quit and not place at all.  So I am going to do what I did last year, I’m going to jump around the alphabet as I post. But I will complete this A to Z challenge! It worked last year, it will work this year!

Tomorrow is Throwback Thursday, so I’ll be re-posting a blog from the past! if I complete the piece I’ve been working on I’ll post that tomorrow, too! Then it will be Two For One Thursday! 😀

Well, back to the race! Gotta run!

2 thoughts on “F is for Falling Behind

Leave a Reply

