I is for: I Will Tell You a Truth

pruning-499257_1280

I will tell you a truth:

You will get hurt.

Bones will snap.

Skin will bruise.

The heart will ache.

It has to happen

And if it doesn’t,

You may want to ask yourself

If you are really living.

I will tell you a truth

I learned from watching father.

He was working in the garden

And he pruned my favorite tree.

He cut a branch and left a stub.

Then he cut it again.

And then once more closer to the trunk.

I thought of how it felt

When a new wound was touched

Or reopened.

I thought he hurt the tree

So I cried.

He told me the branch was dead

And that dead branches

Hinder growth.

Did you hear that?

Dead branches hinder growth.

I will tell you a truth.

I know you are looking for answers.

I’ve been broken and bruised.

I’m healed and living.

The dead branch was removed

And I’m growing.

Flourishing.

I will tell you a final truth.

Dead things stay dead.

Dead things get buried

And they don’t rise again.

Living things continue to grow

As long as they are cared for

And pruned from time to time,

They will continue to grow.

They will continue to flourish.

cherry-55410_1280

2 thoughts on “I is for: I Will Tell You a Truth

  1. Reblogged this on Nikewrites Blog and commented:

    I usually don’t repost items I only posted a few months ago, but this one holds a timely lesson. Let it marinate. Happy Throwback Thursday, friends!

  2. This is beautiful, and a lesson indeed. I would like to share this with an Acceptance Commitment Therapy (ACT), group at the VA hospital, with your blessing, of course. There are a great number of trauma support groups for women in our area, that could really benefit from your beautiful work. Thank you for re-posting this.

Leave a Reply

