Secrets and Shame

Thursday got away from me! So, let’s just call this a “Flash Back Friday” post! Yes, that is a fantastic idea! 😀

In today’s story, Aunt Delores is pulling the veil off of some family secrets.

“Nobody wants to think of their favorite relative as less than pure and holy, but we’re humans. We’re flawed. We make mistakes. Lord knows I’ve made my share. Shame is a powerful thing, sweetheart.” ~Aunt Delores

Nikewrites Blog

Photo found on Black America WebMother nursing

As I helped Aunt Delores with restocking the kitchen pantry, I told her I wanted to document the family history. She was the last of her generation. She was in good health for a woman in her 80s, and would probably be with us a while longer, but I didn’t want to suddenly lose her and have no record of the family history. She didn’t respond, other than glancing at me, and continued to take non-perishables out of the grocery bags and place them on the counter for me to put on the shelves. I wasn’t sure if I should prepare myself for a good telling-off, or if I should break out my recorder to begin to document the next words she spoke.

There was always some task attached to Aunt Delores’ stories. Cooking, hair braiding, sewing, knitting, all had a story to go with the activity. She…

View original post 1,645 more words

Leave a Reply

