World Poetry Day

almost forgot that today was world poetry day! Almost! I was actually looking for a piece of my poetry to share when I saw an article posted on Twitter about this worldwide event! Around the world, coffee shops allowed people to pay for their coffee with a poem in celebration. What an awesome idea! I wish more places in the United State participated. Maybe next year!

In celebration, here are three of my favorite original pieces:

It Was Only A Kiss

The Bridge To Freedom

I Might Let You Chase Me

And here are three of my favorite poems by other poets:

The Dirtiest Man In The World by Shel Silverstein

Still I Rise by Maya Angelou

Road Not Taken by Robert Frost

What are some of your favorite poems?

coffee and writing
Photo credit: Bill Rice
3 thoughts on “World Poetry Day

  1. World Poetry Day totally passed me by (or maybe I passed it by) cause I was so wrapped up in writing about the day BEFORE (International Day of Happiness)…but I’ve got loads of notebooks with poems…Question is will I ever share them with the world (lol).

Leave a Reply

