How We Close

Here we are again on the cusp of saying ‘goodbye’ to the current year and rushing into the arms of the New Year. 2021 is being swept, dusted, mopped and saged out of our dwellings.

Many will proclaim the exiting year as horrible and glad to be rid of it. Declarations will be made regarding personal change, owning the new year and resolutions will be written about improving health, finances and relationships.

Rubbing up against all the declarations, proclamations and resolutions is the desire to “return to normal,” in the face of a persistent and deadly virus that has decided to take up residence in our lives. Isn’t it interesting how we long for the years we called horrible as the calendar moves from past to present?

Jim George is credited with saying, “It’s not how you start, but how well you finish.” If that is the case, it seems like searching for what was good in 2021 is a good way to set the tone for 2022.

No year is completely perfect. There will be ups and downs. That’s a part of life. More than several times this year when asked how I was doing, my response was, “Life is ‘lifing!’” (I know “lifing” isn’t a real word…but I’m a writer. I have the fine privilege of creating new words.) Somewhere along the way, I got tired of listing the things I see as “bad.” Besides, nobody really cares.

And so, as we bid 2021 farewell, I invite you to consider all the things that were good, all the things that went according to plan, and anything that created a new opportunity or opened a door for you (even if it was attached to a less than perfect experience). Walk into the New Year by making peace with the last year.

I wish you and yours a Happy New Year. Make it great.

Photo by Alfred Schrock on Unsplash

Leave a comment